MOT Test: Overview of MOT Classes

MOT test: Class 4 & 7 explained


The objective of an MOT test is to determine whether or not a vehicle is fit for UK roads. The test includes assessing the environmental impacts the car will have, such as the level of toxic emissions. As well as this, any possible mechanical faults will be tested.

Class 4 MOT

The most common MOT test is class 4. Here’s a list of the type of vehicle that will fall under this category:

  • Cars that carry up to eight passengers
  • Motor caravans
  • Three-wheeled vehicles that weigh more than 450kg
  • Quads that are a maximum of 400kg of unladen weight
  • Goods carrying quads with a weight limit of 500kg and maximum net power of 15w
  • Dual purpose vehicles
  • Private hire and public service vehicles with up to eight seats
  • Ambulances, taxis and private passenger vehicles

Class 7 MOT

A class 7 MOT test is required for commercial goods vehicles that weigh between 3,000kg and 3,500kg. It typically includes, Ford Transits type vehicles. In this test they will check emission levels, seat belts, exhaust system, brakes, seats etc.

Vehicles that don’t need an MOT

Here are a few types of vehicles that are exempt from an MOT test.

  • Cars under three years of age
  • Cars and motorcycles made before 1st January 1960
  • Motor tractors
  • Electric goods vehicles (e.g. milk floats)
  • Private hire vehicles or hackney carriages that are taxed by local authorities
  • Vehicles that are provided for Police use and are maintained in an authorised workshop

The MOT class of your vehicle depends on the type of car you drive and its use. Both class 4 and 7 tests are a legal requirement and should take place every year. When you have identified what class your vehicle falls under, you can make a booking at your nearest garage.